For persons charged with drunken driving related offenses in Brazoria County, Texas the criminal penalties can be stiff if convicted in a court of law of such an offense. The main reason for such harsh treatment of persons charged with DWI offenses is the threat on the safety and well-being of the public safety when a person takes to the road while intoxicated.
No matter how many don’t drink and drive campaigns are funded by the government and no matter how many people get killed on Texas roadways, the problem of drunk driving in the state of Texas persists.
As a criminal defense attorney serving the people of Brazoria County, Texas, Tad Nelson knows the ins and outs of defending people of been accused of drunk driving, and how to identify when a person has been falsely accused of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Everyone’s biochemistry is different.
What this means is that two different people can drink the same amount of alcohol, and one be intoxicated, and the other one not. This is a clear demonstration of the biochemical nature of allegations of intoxication with implications that may leave a defendant subject to prosecution for a felony DWI offense.
If you’re ever charged with DWI, it’s important to seek legal representation from a specialist DWI defense law firm with proven talent defending persons charged with alcohol-related criminal offenses.
Criminal Penalties For 1st DWI Offenses
It only takes one conviction for DWI offense to put a blemish on your criminal record, and the smartest thing that you can do is fight at hand, tooth, and nail, to ensure that no negative criminal records affect the perception of your good name.
Persons or convicted of first offense DWI in Texas will face a fine of up to $2000, from 72 hours to 180 days in jail, and the suspension of their Texas Driver’s License from a period of 90 days to one year.
Dealing with these type of circumstances can make life a hassle, especially if you lose your right to lawfully drive in the state of Texas. However, a smart Brazoria County DWI lawyer will be able to assist you with preventing the suspension of your Texas Driver’s License.
Criminal Penalties For 2nd DWI Offenses
If you’re criminally charged for second DWI offense, and found guilty of the crime in a Brazoria County courtroom, you’ll facing serious monetary fine of up to $4000, a potential sentence in jail that can last anywhere from 30 days to one year, and of course, the loss of your driving privileges from a period that can last from six months to two years.
Criminal Penalties For 3rd DWI Offenses
You’ll be held to account for much more severe crimes in the event that you’re convicted of a third DWI offense, which is a felony in the state of Texas. If you’re convicted of a third DWI you’ll face a prison sentence that can last from 2 to 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice operated penitentiary facility. Yes, you’ll be locked up with the murderers, rapists, and child molesters, and treated as one of them.
An Experienced DWI Lawyer Can Help
If you’re searching for a Brazoria County DWI lawyer, and Angleton DWI lawyer, a Pearland DWI lawyer, or a Brazoria DWI attorney, we strongly recommend making contact with attorney Tad Nelson, or either attorney Amber Spurlock, for the best legal representation in Southeast Texas as it relates to fighting allegations of drunk driving.